I’m a Fan of … Venice

Being in Venice is a nostalgic experience. The first time I experienced the city I was 11 and found it a profoundly mysterious place. My group (consisting of three other 11-year-olds, plus one cranky middle-aged chaperone) were taken to the outlying islands of Burano, Murano, and Torcello. Oh, the romance of the setting!

I went back in 2013 and much of the city’s mystery was gone. The canals stank. Everything looked smaller than they had been in my imagination. In other words, the Grand Canal had become but a little stream, and Venice itself was just a city with a terrible commute problem.

Posting for Jez’s Fan Of . . . Challenge.


4 responses to “I’m a Fan of … Venice”

  1. I’ve not been there since I was about 4 or 5; I remember it being a grand but bewildering place as well. The closest I’ve been since is to Venice, Los Angeles 😂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.