Sentence of the Day: From THE GREEN ROAD

Self has loved all the books she’s read so far this year. Some are lighter reads than others, but in general she’s been really lucky in her reading choices. Here are the books she’s read so far in 2016:

  • Road Dogs, by Elmore Leonard
  • The Forever War, by Dexter Filkins
  • The Death of Ivan Ilyich, by Leo Tolstoy
  • Candide, by Voltaire
  • Watch Me, by Anjelica Huston
  • My Brilliant Friend, by Elena Ferrante
  • The Girl on the Train, by Paula Hawkins
  • Girl Waits With Gun, by Amy Stewart
  • The Green Road (currently reading), by Anne Enright

This is a sentence from Enright’s novel. Two “boys,” Dan and Billy, are walking together on a clear Manhattan night, just “after rain.” One of the boys is out of the closet, the other not really:

  • The boys’ winter coats were both open to the mild night, their long scarves hung down, blue and green.

And that’s it! There’s the sentence. Hope you like it as much as self did.

Stay tuned, dear blog readers. Stay night.

 

14 Comments

  1. amoralegria said,

    July 22, 2016 at 12:52 am

    Impressive list! The only one of these that I read was My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante. Which of the books was (or were) your favorite?

    • July 22, 2016 at 1:03 am

      I remember a student asking me how many books I read in a year. My answer: 60. So you see, from the list so far, I’ve slowed down A LOT. Guess that makes me more choosy about what I choose to spend my time with. I like Elmore Leonard, and Dexter Filkins’ book just blew me away.

  2. July 22, 2016 at 1:38 am

    My favorite sentence this year was from a book called The Girl From Everywhere: “Jealousy is nothing but a fear of being abandoned.”

    • July 22, 2016 at 1:48 am

      That is a fabulous sentence. Who’s the author? I will add her to my reading list.

      • July 22, 2016 at 1:50 am

        The author is Heidi Heidi. I enjoyed the story, the rhythm and flow of the language; I hope you do as well!

      • July 22, 2016 at 1:51 am

        That’s a great author’s name! I sometimes wonder if I need to split my author personality and do an alias for my more “out there” stuff. I love the names people have for their tumblrs.

      • July 22, 2016 at 1:54 am

        Sunny Lanning is my author name, born of a deep and abiding love for Isaac Asimov, who invented the word for robot and crafted the Three Laws that pretty much govern everything in sci fi, from Terminator to Aliens.

      • July 22, 2016 at 1:56 am

        You are the second person in the space of 48 hours to mention “Isaac Asimov.” Would you believe, I’ve never read him. I heard his Foundation Series is excellent. The science fiction writing is strong with me now. My first science fiction reading was Stanislaw Lem’s SOLARIS, the one that was made into a movie with George Clooney.

      • July 22, 2016 at 1:52 am

        The author is Heidi Heilig. Argh, autocorrect!

      • July 22, 2016 at 1:53 am

        Oh, ha ha ha. I feel the same about autocorrect. Some of my texts make no sense. Thank you for the actual author’s name. I was beginning to think I should make up a character with the name “Heidi Heidi.” I once wrote a story about a U.S. Congresswoman whose Japanese name was so difficult to remember that everyone referred to her as Congresswoman Have Some Sushi.

      • July 22, 2016 at 1:56 am

        I love that! I always think nicknames depict a person’s truest character…although mine was Twinkle Toes, so perhaps it is not a firm rule of law.

      • July 22, 2016 at 1:56 am

        How about this: My Filipino nickname means “Fatso.” LOL

      • July 22, 2016 at 2:01 am

        I absolutely adore you! On my mother’s side, my nickname even to this day is “gordita”–fat little girl! Or Pumpkin, in English, which is not marginally better!

      • July 22, 2016 at 2:02 am

        “Pumpkin” is a very cute nickname for a girl. I want my next female hero to be called “Pumpkin.” Right now, I’m writing a series of dystopian fantasies all told from the point of view of a boy named Dragon. Everyone keeps asking me if he really IS a dragon, or if he’s turning INTO a dragon, but I say no, no, that’s just his name. And his nemesis in my stories is called Big.


Leave a Reply

