Luna Moore, Met at AWP 2016 Los Angeles, at 40th Anniversary Calyx Reading

DSCN9635

Luz Delgado and Her Daughter Luna Moore, at the Calyx Press 40th Anniversary Reading at AWP 2016, Los Angeles, April 2

Every time self meets a new young person, she always asks for a book recommendation.

Her curiosity always pays off in spades. Hello, Infernal Devices, Cassandra Clare’s steampunk trilogy, recommended by Calgary niece Karina!

So, at the recently concluded AWP  Conference, held in Los Angeles, self met a wonderful girl named Luna Moore.

And Luna recommended:

  • Jane Eyre
  • The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake
  • the Harry Potter series

Turns out Title # 2, The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake, is by Aimee Bender. Which means it probably isn’t YA. Luna is quite a sophisticated reader!

Stay tuned, dear blog readers. Stay tuned.

 

9 Comments

  1. Bhanu said,

    April 4, 2016 at 7:54 pm

    Sorry for my limited knowledge in reading genre. What is YA ?

    • April 4, 2016 at 8:06 pm

      YA stands for “Young Adult.” Examples of this genre: The Hunger Games; Divergent; The Mortal Instruments; The Infernal Devices; Twilight. It’s an exploding publishing category.

      • Bhanu said,

        April 4, 2016 at 8:10 pm

        Yes, all of them made it to top charts I guess. Thanks for improving my knowledge. 🙂

      • April 4, 2016 at 9:59 pm

        They’re good reading. I enjoy them.

      • Bhanu said,

        April 4, 2016 at 10:00 pm

        How wish I read more often 😦

      • April 4, 2016 at 10:22 pm

        I read so much, I barely sleep. It’s a trade-off. I’m happy to give up the sleep, lol

      • Bhanu said,

        April 4, 2016 at 10:24 pm

        Yes, I call it seasons.
        2011 I read so much, that I never read my entire life
        2015 Was too much of Life
        2016 seems to be WordPress but never know.

        I am managing to read – The Republic by Plato, but not consistent enough.

      • April 4, 2016 at 10:35 pm

        I used to average 60 books a year. Last year, I only read 10. Disastrous. But I’m picking up the pace this year.

      • Bhanu said,

        April 4, 2016 at 10:37 pm

        Thanks for inspiring. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Rantings Of A Third Kind

The Blog about everything and nothing and it's all done in the best possible taste!

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

GK Dutta

Be One... Make One...

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

fashionnotfear.wordpress.com/

Fear holds you back, fashion takes you places!

Wanderlust and Wonderment

My writing and photo journey of inspiration and discovery

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

John Oliver Mason

Observations about my life and the world around me.

Insanity at its best!

Yousuf Bawany's Blog

litadoolan

Any old world uncovered by new writing

unbolt me

the literary asylum

the contemporary small press

A site for small presses, writers, poets & readers

The 100 Greatest Books Challenge

A journey from one end of the bookshelf to the other

Random Storyteller

“Stories make us more alive, more human, more courageous, more loving.”― Madeleine L'Engle

Rants Of A Gypsy

Amuse Thyself Reader!

FashionPoetry by Val

Sometimes, I write down my thoughts (and other random stuff) and I share them

Kanlaon

Just another Wordpress.com weblog

