Half-Light # 1: Cat Stevens, “Morning Has Broken”

DSCN2461

Early Morning, Lansing Street, Mendocino

The Daily Post Photo Challenge this week is HALF-LIGHT:

  • “See if you can capture the beauty of morning or evening half-light in your corner of the globe.”

To complicate things even more, we’re supposed to include “a favorite poem, verse, story, or song lyric.”

When self thinks of morning, she always thinks of the Cat Stevens song:

Morning has broken like the first morning
Blackbird has spoken like the first bird
Praise for the singing, praise for the morning
Praise for them springing fresh from the Word

She found the lyrics on metrolyrics.com

Here’s morning just outside the Mendocino Art Center on Little Lake Street, in February:

DSCN2567

Morning, Little Lake Street, Just Outside the Mendocino Art Center

And here’s another verse of the same song:

Mine is the sunlight, mine is the morning
Born of the one light, Eden saw play
Praise with elation, praise every morning
God’s recreation of the new day

And finally, a shot of the morning sun through the window of her unit in the Mendocino Art Center:

DSCN2450

Morning Has Broken! Through the Blinds of Self’s Unit in the Mendocino Art Center, January 2016

Stay tuned, dear blog readers. Stay tuned.

2 Comments

  1. March 29, 2016 at 12:38 am

    Very nice half-light photos. My favorite is morning at Lake Street!

    • March 29, 2016 at 12:59 am

      Thank you very much for leaving a comment. When I’m in Mendocino, I become very “Zen” and I think these photos reflect that.

      I took that shot of the Mendocino Art Center because I happened to look behind me. I was about to cross the street. I don’t know what made me stop and look back. If I hadn’t stopped to look behind me, that shot would never be. Funny to think about.


Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

GK Dutta

Be One... Make One...

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

fashionnotfear.wordpress.com/

Fear holds you back, fashion takes you places!

Wanderlust and Wonderment

My writing and photo journey of inspiration and discovery

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

John Oliver Mason

Observations about my life and the world around me.

Insanity at its best!

Yousuf Bawany's Blog

litadoolan

Any old world uncovered by new writing

unbolt me

the literary asylum

the contemporary small press

A site for small presses, writers, poets & readers

The 100 Greatest Books Challenge

A journey from one end of the bookshelf to the other

Random Storyteller

"Stories makes us more alive, more human. . . . "---Madeleine L'Engle

Rants Of A Gypsy

Amuse Thyself Reader!

FashionPoetry by Val

Sometimes, I write down my thoughts (and other random stuff) and I share them

Kanlaon

Just another Wordpress.com weblog

Jean Lee's World

Finder of Fantasy & Adventure in Her Own Backyard

