Rites of Easter

It’s almost Easter, and here we go again: the annual news story on Philippine crucifixion rituals.

CNN sent intrepid reporter to _____ Island, and self is happy to report that this practice (which “began in the early 1960s”, according to CNN newscaster), has progressed to the point that now the nails being used to nail devotees to the cross are “disinfected stainless steel” (rather than rusty old iron, as formerly)

Reporter’s “horror” quickly turned into “amusement” as he watched the crucified descend and pose happily for pictures with tourists.

Sooo Filipino!

Stay tuned, dear blog readers, stay tuned.


2 responses to “Rites of Easter”

  1. Ay! When I was a child at Clark AFB, my American classmates would go to watch the crucifixions. It was a sore point in our household because my father was anti-superstition and my mother looked down on such displays as beneath her. I found out from the maids. 🙂

    Like

  2. Kathleen,

    In Negros, during Holy Week, there are flagellants. The backs of the men get very, very bloody. It’s a part of our culture that links us with Mexico. (I believe they also have these crucifixions there, though why the Philippines’ gets more play, I have no idea)

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.