Awesome Quote of the Third Saturday of August 2013

From Language for a New Century: Contemporary Poetry From the Middle East, Asia, and Beyond, edited by Tina Chang, Nathalie Handal and Ravi Shankar, Foreword by Carolyn Forché (W. W. Norton)

The Poet’s Voice

I don’t want freedom gram by gram, grain by grain.
I have to break this steel chain with my teeth!
I don’t want freedom as a drug, as a medicine,
I want it as the sun, as the earth, as the heavens!
Step, step aside, you invader!
I am the loud voice of this land!
I don’t need a puny spring,
I am thirsting for oceans!

Khalil Reza Uluturk, translated from the Azeri by Aynur H. Imecer

Self’s favorites: the first two and the last two lines! She should practice saying them aloud . . .

Stay tuned, dear blog readers. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 493 other followers

