Beginning: OUT STEALING HORSES, by Per Petterson, Anne Born, Translator

p. 13:

At some point while I was asleep it started to snow; and I am sure I was aware of it, in my sleep, that the weather changed and grew colder, and I knew I feared the winter, and I feared the snow if there was too much of it, and the fact that I had put myself in an impossible position, moving here.  So then I dreamt fiercely about summer and it was still in my head when I woke up.  I could have dreamt of any summer at all, but I did not.  It turned out to be a very special summer, and I still think of it now when I sit at the kitchen table watching the light spread above the trees by the lake.  Nothing looks as it did last night . . .

There is such a beautiful and evocative stillness in this passage!

Stay tuned, dear blog readers.  Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 674 other followers

